Linguistic & Psycholinguistic Approaches to Text Structuring

Event Notification Type: 
Call for Papers
Abbreviated Title: 
Monday, 21 September 2009 to Wednesday, 23 September 2009
Submission Deadline: 
Friday, 15 May 2009

Full Title: Linguistic & Psycholinguistic Approaches to Text Structuring
Short Title: LPTS09

Date: 21-Sep-2009 - 23-Sep-2009
Location: Paris, France
Contact Person: Laure Sarda
Meeting Email:
Web Site:

Linguistic Field(s): Discourse Analysis; Psycholinguistics; Semantics;
Text/Corpus Linguistics

Call Deadline: 15-May-2009

Meeting Description:

Linguistic & Psycholinguistic Approaches to Text Structuring
(LPTS 2009)

Ecole Normale Supérieure, 45 rue d'Ulm, 75005 Paris, France
September 21-23 2009

The aim of the conference is to provide an interdisciplinary forum to
and discuss recent work on markers of discourse structure: adverbials,
connectives, discourse particles, etc. How can we categorize these markers?
kind of relations do they express? Can they combine several functions at the
sentence level and/ or at the discourse level and, if so, which ones? What
impact do discourse structure markers have on comprehension? When and how
they acquired? From what age are children able to master their use in oral
written discourse?

The goal of the conference is more specifically to advance research into the
relationship between the position of the markers concerned and their ability
play a role in discourse organization. Do these markers have a privileged
position? We know that sentence initial position is a strategic position in
terms of information structuring/packaging and memory. But can these factors
override the word order constraints of each language? Are there also
variations between discourse genres and between written and oral modes?

Invited Speakers:
Peter Crompton (American University of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates)
Tuomas Huumo (University of Turku, Finland)
Tuija Virtanen (Åbo Akademi University Department Of English, Finland)
Isabelle Tapiéro (University of Lyon 2 - EMC, France)
Yves Bestgen (FNRS - UCL, Belgium - representing the psycholinguistic group
the Spatial Framing Adverbials project)

Last Call for Papers

We invite papers using cognitive and functional approaches, based on corpora
different languages at different stages of their evolution, as well as
that report on psycholinguistic approaches based on behavioural data.

Topics may include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Segmentation and linearization
- Initial positioning
- Saliency and Information Structure
- Grammaticalization and evolution of structure markers
- Typological approach to structure markers
- Spatial and temporal discourse structure
- Effects of discourse organization markers on comprehension
- Acquisition and mastery of their use in discourse production
- Role of text structuring devices in acquiring knowledge

Submission Information:
Proposals will be subjected to a double, blind review and should be
They should not exceed 1000 words (references excluded) and be sent via
email as
an attachment (MS-WORD doc, rtf, or PDF)
Please put in the subject line: 'LPTS09_submission'. In the body of the
please specify:
author(s); title; affiliation of author(s); presentation or poster; 3 - 5

Newly available : Online Submission via

Important Dates:
Submission deadline: May 15th 2009
Notification of acceptance: June 15th 2009
Early registration deadline: July 10th 2009
Conference: September 21-23, 2009.

Details about the registration procedure will be posted on the conference
website shortly.

Registration Fees:
Regular fee (participants/audience) : 80 euros / late registration 100 euros
(after July 10, 2009).
Students : 40 euros Students / late registration 60 euros (after July 10,

Official Languages: English, French

Conference Website:

For further information contact Laure Sarda, LATTICE laboratory, UMR 8094
ENS, (Laure.sarda@

Organising Committee:
Laure Sarda (LATTICE, UMR 8094 CNRS & ENS)
Jeanne Aptekman (LATTICE, UMR 8094 CNRS & ENS)
Benjamin Fagard (LATTICE, UMR 8094 CNRS & ENS)
Shirley Carter Thomas (Institut Télécom (Paris Sud), LATTICE, UMR 8094 CNRS
& ENS)
Michel Charolles (Université Paris 3, LATTICE, UMR 8094 CNRS & ENS)

Scientific Committee:
David Banks, University of 'Bretagne Occidentale', France
Bergljot Behrens, University of Oslo, Norway
Yves Bestgen, Belgian National Fund for Scientific Research, UCL, Belgium
Andrée Borillo, University of Toulouse Le Mirail (CLLE-ERSS), France
Janice Carruthers, Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom
Bernard Combettes, University of Nancy 2 (ATILF), France
Francis Cornish, University of Toulouse Le Mirail (CLLE-ERSS), France
Trine Dahl, Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration (NHH),
Liesbeth Degand, Belgian National Fund for Scientific Research, UCL (CETIS),
Catherine Fabricius-Hansen, University of Oslo, Norway
Kjersti Flottum, University of Bergen, Norway
Catherine Fuchs, CNRS & ENS (LATTICE), France
Claude Guimier, University of Caen (CRISCO), France
Mervi Helkkula, University of Helsinki, Finland
Agata Jackiewicz ,University of Paris 4-La Sobornne, France
Béatrice Lamiroy, KULeuven, Belgium
Anne Le Draoulec, CNRS & University of Toulouse Le Mirail (CLLE-ERSS),
Lita Lundquist, Copenhagen Business School, Danemark
Christiane Marchello-Nizia, ENS Lyon (ICAR), France
Maj-Britt Mosegaard Hansen, Univesity of Manchester, United Kingdom
Franck Neveu, University of Caen (CRISCO), France
Henning Nølke, University of Aarhus, Danemark
Marie-Paule Péry-Woodley, University of Toulouse Le Mirail (CLLE-ERSS),
Paola Pietrandrea, University of Roma tre, Italie
Sophie Prévost, CNRS & ENS (LATTICE), France
Laurent Rouveyrol, University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France
Elizabeth Rowley-Jolivet, University of Orléans, France
Ted Sanders, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands.
Catherine Schnedecker, University Strasbourg II, France
Wilbert Spooren, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands.
Denis Vigier, University of Lyon 2 (ICAR), France