Automatic Speech Recognition and Understanding Workshop

Event Notification Type: 
Call for Papers
Abbreviated Title: 
Sunday, 13 December 2009 to Thursday, 17 December 2009
Submission Deadline: 
Wednesday, 15 July 2009

Automatic Speech Recognition and Understanding Workshop
Merano, Italy December 13-17, 2009

The eleventh biannual IEEE workshop on Automatic Speech Recognition
and Understanding (ASRU) will be held on December 13-17, 2009.
The ASRU workshops have a tradition of bringing together
researchers from academia and industry in an intimate and
collegial setting to discuss problems of common interest in
automatic speech recognition and understanding.

Workshop topics

• automatic speech recognition and understanding
• human speech recognition and understanding
• speech to text systems
• spoken dialog systems
• multilingual language processing
• robustness in ASR
• spoken document retrieval
• speech-to-speech translation
• spontaneous speech processing
• speech summarization
• new applications of ASR.

The workshop program will consist of invited lectures, oral
and poster presentations, and panel discussions. Prospective
authors are invited to submit full-length, 4-6 page papers,
including figures and references, to the ASRU 2009 website
All papers will be handled and reviewed electronically.
The website will provide you with further details. Please note
that the submission dates for papers are strict deadlines.


Paper submission deadline July 15, 2009
Paper notification of acceptance September 3, 2009
Demo session proposal deadline September 24, 2009
Early registration deadline October 7, 2009
Workshop December 13-17, 2009

Please note that the number of attendees will be limited and
priority will be given to paper presenters. Registration will
be handled via the ASRU 2009 website,, where more information on the workshop
will be available.

General Chairs
Giuseppe Riccardi, U. Trento, Italy
Renato De Mori, U. Avignon, France

Technical Chairs
Jeff Bilmes, U. Washington, USA
Pascale Fung, HKUST, Hong Kong China
Shri Narayanan, USC, USA
Tanja Schultz, U. Karlsruhe, Germany

Panel Chairs
Alex Acero, Microsoft, USA
Mazin Gilbert, AT&T, USA

Demo Chairs
Alan Black, CMU, USA
Piero Cosi, CNR, Italy

Publicity Chairs
Dilek Hakkani-Tür, ICSI, USA
Isabel Trancoso, INESC -ID/IST, Portugal

Publication Chair
Giuseppe di Fabbrizio, AT&T, USA

Local Chair
Maurizio Omologo, FBK-irst, Italy