Second Workshop on Computational Linguistics and Writing (CL&W 2012): Linguistic and cognitive aspects of document creation and document engineering

Event Notification Type: 
Call for Papers
Abbreviated Title: 
CL&W 2012
EACL 2012 at University of Avignon, France
Monday, 23 April 2012
Contact Email: 
Michael Piotrowski
Cerstin Mahlow
Robert Dale
Submission Deadline: 
Saturday, 4 February 2012


Second Workshop on Computational Linguistics and Writing (CL&W 2012):
Linguistic and cognitive aspects of document creation and document

Workshop at EACL 2012

NEW SUBMISSION DEADLINE: February 4, 2012 (24:00 CET)

Web site:

Workshop date: April 23, 2012

Location: Avignon, France


Topics of interest for this workshop include, but are not limited to,
the following:

  • Resources and tools to assist or support the creation of
    natural-language texts and documents
  • Algorithms and techniques for authoring aids
  • Supporting the authoring of multilingual, multimedia, and adaptive
  • Interplay of cognitive processes, cognitive resources, and writing tools
  • Observation of writing in natural settings and insights for
    improving authoring tools
  • Experimental studies pertinent to writing tools
  • User interface and HCI issues in current and future writing and
    document processing tools
  • Predictive editing methods
  • Authoring tools for less-resourced languages
  • Evaluation of tools and resources

We invite researchers to submit full papers of up to 9 pages
(excluding references) or short papers of up to 4 pages (including
references). These page limits must be strictly observed.
Submissions must be in English.
Reviewing of papers will be double-blind by the members of the program
committee, and all submissions will receive several independent
reviews. Papers submitted at review stage must not contain the
authors' names, affiliations, or any information that may disclose the
authors' identity. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the
author's identity, e.g., "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...",
should be avoided. Instead, use citations such as "Smith previously
showed (Smith, 1991) ...". Do not use anonymous citations. Do not
include acknowledgments. Papers that do not conform to these
requirements may be rejected without review.
Submission is electronic using the START submission system at:

Submissions must be uploaded to START by the submission deadline (see
All submissions must be in PDF format. Papers must follow the
two-column format of EACL 2012. We strongly recommended the use of
the style files provided on the workshop Web site. We reserve the
right to reject submissions that do not conform to these styles.
If you intend to submit your paper to several EACL 2012 workshops,
please contact the workshop chairs beforehand.
Authors of accepted papers will be invited to present their research
at the workshop. Accepted papers will be published in the electronic
workshop proceedings. The workshop proceedings will be part of the
EACL 2012 proceedings, published by ACL.
Full instructions for submissions and style files can be found on the
workshop Web site at
Date and Location
Location: EACL 2012 in Avignon, France
Date: April 23, 2012

Important Dates
Deadline for submission: February 4, 2012
Notification of acceptance: February 24, 2012
Revised version of papers: March 9, 2012
Workshop: April 23 or 24, 2012
Michael Piotrowski (University of Zurich, Switzerland),
Cerstin Mahlow (University of Basel, Switzerland),
Robert Dale (Macquarie University, Australia),

Program Committee

  • Gerd Bräuer (University of Education Freiburg, Germany)
  • Jill Burstein (ETS, USA)
  • Rickard Domeij (The Language Council of Sweden, Sweden)
  • Kevin Egan (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Caroline Hagège (Xerox Research Centre Europe, France)
  • Sofie Johansson Kokkinakis (University of Gothenburg, Sweden)
  • Ola Karlsson (The Language Council of Sweden, Sweden)
  • Ola Knutsson (Stockholm University, Sweden)
  • Eva Lindgren (Umeå University, Sweden)
  • Aurélien Max (LIMSI, France)
  • Guido Nottbusch (University of Potsdam, Germany)
  • Daniel Perrin (Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland)
  • Martin Reynaert (Tilburg University, The Netherlands)
  • Gert Rijlaarsdam (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Koenraad de Smedt (University of Bergen, Norway)
  • Sylvana Sofkova Hashemi (University West, Sweden)
  • Eric Wehrli (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Carl Whithaus (UC Davis, USA)
  • Michael Zock (CNRS, France)

Further Information
Workshop Contact Address