12th Meeting on the Mathematics of Language

Event Notification Type: 
Call for Papers
Abbreviated Title: 
Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Tuesday, 6 September 2011 to Thursday, 8 September 2011
Contact Email: 
Makoto Kanazawa
Submission Deadline: 
Saturday, 2 April 2011

Amended Call for Papers

12th Meeting on Mathematics of Language

Nara, September 6-8, 2011


Invited Speakers

Kit Fine, New York University
Andreas Maletti, Universitaet Stuttgart


MOL 12 is the 12th Meeting on the Mathematics of Language, to be held at the National Center of Sciences in Nara from September 6 through 8, 2011. MOL meetings are organized biennially by the Association for Mathematics of Language, which is a Special Interest Group of the Association for Computational Linguistics. Previous meetings were held at Bielefeld University (2009), UCLA (2007), the University of Edinburgh (2005), and Indiana University (2003).

Aims and Scope

MOL (Mathematics of Language) is a biennial conference devoted to the mathematical study of languages and linguistics. Contributions to all areas of this field are welcome. The topics within the scope of the conference include, but are by no means limited to:

complexity and generative capacity of grammar formalisms
formal analysis of linguistic theories and frameworks
model-theoretic and proof-theoretic methods in linguistics
mathematical foundations of statistical and stochastic approaches to language analysis
formal models of language use and language change

Submission Guideline

We invite submission of original, unpublished papers suitable for 30-minute presentations. Papers should report original work which has not been presented at other conferences with published proceedings. Simultaneous submission to other conferences is allowed, provided that the authors indicate which other conferences the paper is submitted to. A paper is accepted on the condition that it will not be presented at any other venues.

Papers should not exceed 18 pages, including references and appendices (if any), and should be prepared in LaTeX using the Springer LNCS class files available atftp://ftp.springer.de/pub/tex/latex/llncs/latex2e/llncs2e.zip.

Papers must be submitted electronically at http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=mol12.

Submissions will be reviewed anonymously by at least three reviewers.


The proceedings will be published by the time of the conference in the FoLLI LNAI subline of the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science.

Important Dates

Deadline for submission: April 2, 2011
Notification to authors: May 16, 2011
Deadline for camera-ready copies for the proceedings: June 1, 2011
Conference: September 6-8, 2011

Program Committee

Patrick Blackburn
Alexander Clark
Philippe de Groote
Aravind Joshi
Greg Kobele
Andras Kornai
Marcus Kracht (Chair)
Natasha Kurtonina
Michael Moortgat
Larry Moss
Gerald Penn
Sylvain Pogodalla
James Rogers
Sylvain Salvati
Hiroyuki Seki
Ed Stabler
Hans-Joerg Tiede

Organizing Committee

Makoto Kanazawa (Chair)
Ryo Yoshinaka