Nominations for the ACL Executive Committee

Dear ACL members,

The Nominating Committee has chosen the following candidates for positions on the ACL executive committee (starting January 1, 2011):


Chu-Ren Huang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China
Kam-Fai Wong, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

Board member:

Renata Vieira, Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Thiago Pardo, Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil


Dragomir Radev, University of Michigan (incumbent)

According to the ACL constitution, additional nominations may be submitted over a thirty-day period (until September 10, 2010). For an additional nomination to be valid, it needs to come from two or more ACL members.

Nominations should be sent to Priscilla Rasmussen (acl [at] The nominee should indicate via email that he or she accepts the nomination.

Each nominee should be prepared to submit the following: (a) name and affiliation, (b) a short biographical sketch, (c) a personal home page URL, and (d) a brief candidate statement. Instructions will be given in due time.

In the spirit of triennial rotation across its three regions (Africa/Europe, Asia/Pacific, North America/South America), the ACL executive committee encourages any additional nominations to be from the same regions as the candidates proposed by the nominating committee.

Please note that ACL officers are not allowed to hold simultaneously major positions with ongoing conferences (consult ACL's policy on conflict of interest available from the ACL web site).

In late September, the final list of candidate names and statements will appear on the ACL web site and the thirty-day voting period will begin. Please contact Priscilla Rasmussen if you don't receive an email inviting you to vote by September 25.

Please contact me with any questions, concerns, or recommendations.

Kevin Knight, on behalf of the ACL executive committee