Second Workshop on Hybrid Approaches to Translation

Event Notification Type: 
Call for Papers
Abbreviated Title: 
Co-located with ACL 2013
Thursday, 8 August 2013
Marta R. Costa-jussà
Submission Deadline: 
Tuesday, 30 April 2013

Apologies for multiple postings

Please distribute to colleagues


Second Workshop on Hybrid Approaches to Translation (HyTra)

Co-located with ACL 2013
Sofia, Bulgaria
August 8, 2013
Deadline for paper submissions: April 30, 2013

Invited Speakers

Will Lewis and Chris Quirk (Microsoft Research)
Hermann Ney (Aachen University)


Workshop Description

The Second Workshop on Hybrid Approaches to Translation (HyTra) intends to further progress on the findings from the first edition which was held (together with the ESIRMT workshop) as a joint 2-day EACL 2012 workshop.

The aim of the HyTra workshop is to bring together and share ideas among researchers developing statistical, example-based, or rule-based translation systems and those who enhance MT systems with elements from the other approaches. Hereby one relevant focus will be on effectively combining linguistic and data driven approaches (rule-based and statistical MT). Another focus will be on hybridization in the context of human translation.

We solicit contributions including but not limited to the following topics:

*ways and techniques of hybridization
*architectures for the rapid development of hybrid MT systems
*applications of hybrid systems
*hybrid systems dealing with under-resourced languages
*hybrid systems dealing with morphologically rich languages
*using linguistic information (morphology, syntax, semantics) to enhance statistical MT (e.g. with hierarchical or factored models)
*using contextual information to enhance statistical MT
*bootstrapping rule-based systems from corpora
*hybrid methods in spoken language translation
*extraction of dictionaries and other large-scale resources for MT from parallel and comparable corpora
*induction of morphological, grammatical, and translation rules from corpora
*machine learning techniques for hybrid MT
*describing structural mappings between languages (e.g. tree-structures using synchronous/transduction grammars)
*heuristics for limiting the search space in hybrid MT
*alternative methods for the fair evaluation of the output of different types of MT systems (e.g. relying on linguistic criteria)
*system combination approaches such as multi-engine MT (parallel) or automatic post-editing (sequential)
*open source tools and free language resources for hybrid MT

Contributions can be short or long papers. Short paper submission must describe original and unpublished work without exceeding five pages of content plus one extra page for references. Characteristics of short papers include: a small, focused contribution; work in progress; a negative result; an opinion piece; an interesting application nugget. Long paper submissions must describe substantial, original, completed and unpublished work without exceeding eight pages of content plus two extra pages for references. Submissions will be judged according to the criteria of the main conference (of ACL 2013).

Submission Instructions

Authors are invited to submit papers on original and previously unpublished work. Formatting should be according to ACL 2013 specifications using LaTeX or MS-Word style files, see Reviewing of papers will be double-blind, so the submissions should not reveal the authors’ identity.

Submission is electronic in PDF format using the START submission system at (URL to be announced in subsequent versions of this call)

Double submission policy: Parallel submission to other meetings or publications are possible but must be immediately notified to the workshop contact person (see below).

For an accepted paper to appear in the proceedings, at least one author must register for the workshop and actually present the paper. The papers will be published in the electronic workshop proceedings. These will be part of the ACL proceedings, published by ACL. They will also be made available online via the ACL Anthology.

Important Dates

April 30, 2013: Paper submissions due
May 24, 2013: Notification of acceptance
Jun 7, 2013: Camera ready papers due
August 8, 2013: Workshop in Sofia


Marta R. Costa-jussà (Institute for Infocomm Research).
Reinhard Rapp (Universities of Aix-Marseille and Mainz),
Patrik Lambert (Barcelona Media Innovation Center),
Rafael E. Banchs (Institute for Infocomm Research),
Bogdan Babych (University of Leeds)
Kurt Eberle (Lingenio GmbH)

Contact person

Marta R. Costa-jussà (

Invited Speakers

Will Lewis and Chris Quirk (Microsoft Research)
Hermann Ney (Aachen University)

Programme Committee

Alexey Baytin, Yandex, Moscow, Russia
Núria Bel, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain
Pierrette Bouillon, ISSCO/TIM/ETI, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Michael Carl, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Marine Carpuat, National Research Council, Canada
Josep Maria Crego, Systran, Paris, France
Oliver Culo, University of Mainz, Germany
Andreas Eisele, DGT (European Commission), Luxembourg
Marcello Federico, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Trento, Italy
Christian Federmann, Language Technology Lab, DFKI, Saarbrücken, Germany
Alexander Fraser, University of Stuttgart, Germany
José A. R. Fonollosa, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Tony Hartley, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan, and University of Leeds, UK
Maxim Khalilov, TAUS, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Philipp Koehn, University of Edimburgh, UK
Kevin Knight, University of Southern Carlifornia, US
Udo Kruschwitz, University of Essex, UK
Yanjun Ma, Baidu Inc., Beijing, China
José B. Mariño, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Bart Mellebeek, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Maite Melero, Barcelona Media Innovation Center, Barcelona, Spain
Haizhou Li, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Chris Quirk, Microsoft Research, Seattle, USA
Paul Schmidt, Institute for Applied Information Science, Saarbrücken, Germany
Anders Sogaard, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Uta Seewald-Heeg, Anhalt University of Applied Sciences, Köthen, Germany
Nasredine Semmar, CEA LIST, Fontenay-aux-Roses, France
Wade Shen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA
Serge Sharoff, University of Leeds, UK
George Tambouratzis, Institute for Language and Speech Processing, Athens, Greece.
Jörg Tiedemann, University of Uppsala, Sweden
Dekai Wu, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong, China