2014Q1 Reports: SIG Compliance

From Admin Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

ACL SIGs: Report on Year 2013 (Feb. 9, 2014)

Hermann Ney

last update: 10-Mar-2014

Summary

  • There is a total of 18 SIGs.
  • The number of members reported below refers to the year 2013 in most cases.
  • Elections: Most of the SIGs had elections in the years 2012/13. The exceptions are:
    • SIGANN and SIGMT: no information given;
    • SIGNLL: last election in Nov. 2011; next election in June 2014;
    • SIG SEMITIC: last election in 2011; next election in May 2014.

List of SIGs

  1. SIGANN: SIG for annotation
    • web page: http://www.cs.vassar.edu/sigann
    • contacts: president Nancy Ide (ide@cs.vassar.edu), secretary Adam Meyers (meyers@cs.nyu.edu)
    • members: 220
    • elections (last, next): ??
    • events: LAW VII at ACL 2013; LAW VIII at COLING 2014
  2. SIGBioMed: SIG for biomedical natural language processing
    • web page: http://aclweb.org/aclwiki/index.php?title=SIGBIOMED
    • contacts: chair Kevin Bretonnel Cohen Kevin.Cohen@gmail.com), secretary Dina Demner-Fushman (ddemner@gmail.com)
    • members: 107
    • elections (last, next): Aug. 2013, June 2016
    • events: BioNLP workshops at ACL 2013 and ACL 2014
  3. SIGDAT: SIG for linguistic data and corpus-based approaches to NLP
    • web page: http://www.sigdat.org/
    • contacts: president Philipp Koehn (phkoehn@gmail.com), vice president Mark Johnson (mark.johnson@mq.edu.au)
    • members: approx. 1000
    • elections (last, next): fall 2013, 2014
    • events: EMNLP Oct. 2013, EMNLP Oct. 2014
  4. SIGDIAL: SIG on discourse and dialogue
    • web page: http://www.sigdial.org
    • contacts: president Amanda Stent, vice president Jason Williams, secretary Kristiina Jokinen (Kristiina.Jokinen@helsinki.fi)
    • members: 400
    • elections (last, next): Feb. 2013; Feb. 2015
    • events: annual conference August 2013, annual conference June 2014
  5. SIGFSM: SIG on finite state methods and models in natural language processing
    • web page: http://www.aclweb.org/aclwiki/index.php?title=SIGFSM
    • contacts: president Andreas Maletti (andreas.maletti@ims.uni-stuttgart.de), secretary Mans Hulden (mhulden@email.arizona.edu)
    • members: 93
    • elections (last, next): 2012, 2015
    • events: FSMNLP 2013; ACL workshop jointly with SIGMORPHON in 2014
  6. SIGGEN: SIG on natural language generation
    • web page: http://www.siggen.org
    • contacts: chair Ielka van der Sluis (i.f.van.der.sluis@rug.nl), secretary Verena Rieser (v.t.rieser@hw.ac.uk)
    • members: 309
    • elections (last, next): Dec 2012, end of 2014
    • events: ENLG 2013 (endorsed), INLG 2014
  7. SIGHAN: SIG on Chinese language
    • web page: http://www.sighan.org
    • contacts: chair Zong Chengqing (cqzong@nlpr.ia.ac.cn), secretary Gina-Anne Levow (levow@u.washington.edu)
    • members: 210
    • elections (last, next): Dec. 2013, Dec. 2015
    • events: SIGHAN Workshop Oct. 2013, CIPS-SIGHAN Oct. 2014
  8. SIGHUM: SIG on language technologies for the socio-economic sciences and the humanities
    • web page: http://sighum.science.ru.nl
    • contacts: president Antal van den Bosch (a.vandenbosch@let.ru.nl), secretary Kalliopi Zervanou (kzervanou@yahoo.co.uk)
    • members: 103
    • elections (last, next): Dec. 2013; Oct. 2015
    • events: LaTeCH 2013 at ACL, LaTeCH 2014 at EACL
  9. SIGLEX: SIG on the lexicon
    • web page: http://www.siglex.org
    • contacts: president Mona Diab (mtdiab@gwu.edu), secretary Anna Korhonen (alk23@cam.ac.uk)
    • members: 649
    • elections (last, next): Aug. 2013, June 2016
    • events: SEMEVAL and SIGLEX in 2013; planed for 2014/5
  10. SIGMOL: SIG on mathematical linguistics
    • web page: http://www.molweb.org
    • contacts: president Marco Kuhlmann (marco.kuhlmann@liu.se), vice president Makoto Kanazawa (kanazawa@nii.ac.jp)
    • members: 252
    • elections (last, next): May 2013, early 2016
    • events: meeting on Mathematics of Language, co-located with ACL 2013; Int. Symposium on Art. Intelligence and Mathematics (ISAIM), special session on Mathematical Theories of Natural Language Processing, Jan. 2014
  11. SIGMORPHON: SIG for computational morphology, phonology, and phonetics
    • web page: http://sigmorphon.org/
    • contacts: president Jason Eisner (jason@cs.jhu.edu), secretary Greg Kondrak (kondrak@cs.ualberta.edu)
    • members: 143
    • elections (last, next): Feb. 2014, Feb. 2016
    • events: no event in 2013, 2014 joint meeting of SIGMORPHON and SIGFSM co-located with ACL
  12. SIGMT: SIG for machine translation
    • web page: http://www.sigmt.org
    • contacts: president Philipp Koehn (pkoehn@inf.ed.ac.uk), secretary David Chiang (chiang@isi.edu)
    • members: 131
    • elections (last, next): none in the past; none planned (??)
    • events: workshop on MT and workshop on SSST, each year
  13. SIGNLL: SIG on natural language learning
    • web page: http://www.signll.org
    • contacts: president Alex Clark (alexc@cs.rhul.ac.uk), secretary Xavier Carreras (carreras@lsi.upc.edu)
    • members: 350
    • elections (last, next): Nov. 2011, June 2014
    • events: CoNLL-2013, co-located with ACL-2013; CoNLL-2014, co-located with ACL-2014
  14. SIGPARSE: SIG on parsing
    • web page: http://www.cs.cmu.edu/ ̃sigparse
    • contacts: president John Carroll (J.A.Carroll@sussex.ac.uk), secretary Eric Villemonte de la Clergerie (Eric.De La Clergerie@inria.fr)
    • members: 219
    • elections (last, next): Feb. 2013; Dec. 2015
    • events: IWPT 2013, SPMRL 2013 (endorsed); SPMRL-SANCL 2014 (endorsed); IWPT 2015
  15. SIGSEM: SIG on computational semantics
    • web page: http://www.sigsem.org
    • contacts: president Johan Bos (johan.bos@rug.nl), secretary Katrin Erk (katrin.erk@mail.utexas.edu)
    • members: 871
    • elections (last, next): Oct. 2013; next election in 2016
    • events: SIGSEM 2013, IWCS 2013; SEM 1014.
  16. SIG SEMITIC: SIG on Computational Approaches to Semitic Languages
    • web page: http://cl.haifa.ac.il/semitic/index.shtml
    • contacts: chair Mona Diab (mtdiab@gwu.edu), secretary Reut Tsarfaty (reut.tsarfaty@gmail.com)
    • members: 245
    • elections (last, next): 2011; May 2014
    • events: shared task on statistical parsing of morphologically rich languages (SPMRL’13 co-located with EMNLP 2013)
  17. SIGSLPAT: SIG on Speech and Language Processing for Assistive Technologies
    • web page: http://www.slpat.org
    • contacts: presdient Annalu Waller (awaller@computing.dundee.ac.uk), secretary Frank Rudzicz (frank@cs.toronto.edu)
    • members: 100
    • elections (last, next): fall 2012, fall 2014
    • events: SLPAT 2013, PITR 2013; SLPAT 2014, special session at Interspeech 2014
  18. SIGWAC: SIG on web as corpus
    • web page: http://www.sigwac.org.uk
    • contacts: chair Stefan Evert (stefan.evert@linguistik.uni-erlangen.de), secretary Egon W. Stemle (egon.stemle@eurac.edu)
    • members: 184
    • elections (last, next): July 2012; next in 2015
    • events: WAC8 at Corpus Linguistics, July 2013; WAC9 at EACL 2014, April 2014